Super Bowl History in the 1970's

 Super Bowl History
 Super Bowl Scores
 Super Bowl Schedule
 Super Bowl Standings
Sports Betting Bonuses

Super Bowl History 1970 - 1979

Super Bowl IV

New Orleans, Louisiana hosted Bud Grant's Minnesota Vikings and Hank Stram's Kansas City Chiefs in Super Bowl 4 at Tulane Stadium. Over 80,000 people attended the game. Jen Stenerud kicked three field goals and Lenny Dawson took home the MVP after calling a seemingly flawless game. Led by Willie Lanier, Jerry Mays, and Johnny Robinson the Chief defense held the Vikings in check, causing 5 turnovers, allowing 67 rushing yards, a single touchdown by Dave Osborn, and a 23-7 win. Super Bowl Four marked the second straight year an underdog AFL team won the Championship.

Super Bowl V

On January 17th, 1971, in Miami, Florida, Jim O'Brien kicked a last second field goal to lift his Baltimore Colts over the Dallas Cowboys 16-13 in Super Bowl 5. Super Bowl Five had many firsts; the Colts were down at half, the outcome was within a score, the game was played on artificial turf, the MVP came from the losing team, and it was the first Super Bowl in a merged NFL . Earl Morrall relieved Johnny Unitas late in the first half, but it was Johnny U who threw the Colts lone touchdown pass. A ball tipped by Eddie Hinton and Mel Renfro eventually landing in the grasp of John Mackey who ran for a 75 yard score. Linebacker, Chuck Howley took home MVP honors in the losing effort.

Super Bowl VI

On January 16th, 1972 Tom Landry's Dallas Cowboys met Don Shula's Miami Dophins at Tulane Stadium in New Orleans, Louisiana. At the time, Super Bowl 6 was the top rated single day telecast ever. Richard Nixon's predecessor, Lyndon B. Johnson, telegrammed Tom Landry and the Cowboys before the game, wishing them luck. Roger Staubach didn't let the president down as he threw for two touchdowns (to Mike Ditka and Lance Alworth), taking home the games MVP. The Dolphins, led by Bob Griese and running backs Jim Kliick and Larry Csonka, were held without a touchdown for the first time in Super Bowl History. The Cowboys beat the Dolphins, 24-3.

Super Bowl VII

On January 14th, 1973 at Memorial Coliseum in Los Angeles, California, Don Shula's Miami Dolphins put their perfect season on the line against the Washington Redskins in Super Bowl Seven. The First half saw the Dolphins continue their perfect season, scoring on a Bob Griese touchdown pass and a Jim Kliick plunge. Superstar quarterback, Billy Kilmer couldn't muster an offensive touchdown for the Skins. The second half had only one score, a 49 yard fumble return by Washington's Mike Bass on Garo Yepremian's infamous blocked kick. Safety Jake Scott had two interceptions, and was named MVP. Miami completed their perfect season with a 14-7 Super Bowl 7 victory.

Super Bowl VIII

Super Bowl Eight was played on January 13th, 1974 at Houston Texas' Rice Stadium. Don Shula's Miami Dolphins, back for the third straight year, played Bud Grant's Minnesota Vikings and their feared defense, "The Purple People Eaters". Fran Tarkenton and "The Purple People Eaters" were no match for Bob Greise, Mercury Morris, and game's MVP Larry Csonka, who rushed for a record 146 yards in Super Bowl 8. Commissioner, Pete Rozelle fined Bud Grant $1,500 for his criticism of the locker room and practice facilities. The Dolphins dominated the game, 24-7.

Super Bowl IX

Tulane Stadium of New Orleans, Louisiana hosted Super Bowl 9 between the Pittsburgh Steelers and Minnesota Vikings. Super Bowl Nine matched two of the greatest defenses of all time; Chuck Noll's "The Steel Curtain" led by Mean Joe Green, and Bud Grant's "Purple People Eaters". Neither defense allowed a first half touchdown. Pitttsburgh tackled RB Dave Osborn in the end zone for a safety, after he fumbled a Fran Tarkenton pitch for the half's only ponts. The Steelers held Minnesota without an offensive touchdown. Terry Bradshaw hit Larry Brown for a touchdown in the second half, and MVP Franco Harris rushed for 158 yards to finish the Vikings off, 16-6.

Super Bowl X

The Orange Bowl in Miami, Florida hosted Super Bowl 10 on January 18, 1976. Dallas was playing in the Super Bowl for the 3rd time and Pittsburgh was making their second trip in as many years. Super Bowl Ten was tight throughout, but Tom Landry's Cowboys couldn't stop Super Bowl MVP, Lynn Swan. After spending two nights in the hospital for a concussion after the AFC Title Game, Swan caught four balls from Terry Bradshaw for a Super Bowl record 161 yards and one touchdown. Roger Staubach threw a touchdown to Percy Howard and Drew Pearson. Pittsburgh's Reggie Harrison blocked a punt for a safety and Staubach's desperation toss in the final seconds was intercepted by Glen Edwards, icing the game 21-17.

Super Bowl XI

On January 9th, 1977 the Oakland Raiders beat the Minnesota Vikings 32-14 before 103,438 fans at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California. In his first try, John Madden did something Bud Grant failed to do in 4 attempts, win a Super Bowl. Fred Biletnikoff made 4 key receptions, taking home MVP honors. But, it was running backs Clarence Davis (137 yards), Mark Van Eeghen (73 yards), and Pete Banaszak (2 touchdowns) who carried the work load for the Raiders. Fran Tarkenton threw a touchdown to Sammy White, but it was too late as corner Willie Brown's Raider defense put an end to Bud Grant's final shot at Super Bowl Eleven.

Super Bowl XII

On January 15th 1978, New Orleans, Louisiana hosted Super Bowl 12 at the Superdome. The great Tom Landry and his Cowboys battled Red Miller's Denver Broncos and their famous "Red Crush" defense. Dallas converted two early Craig Morton interceptions for a Tony Dorsett touchdown run and an Efren Herrera field goal. Roger Staubach threw a touchdown to Butch Johnson. Randy Hughes, Mark Washington, Aaron Kyle, and Benny Barnes each intercepted Morton. Rick Upchurch had a great kick return that helped Norris Weese lead the Broncos to lone touchdown. Dallas clinched the game when Dorsett's backfield partner, Robert Newhouse, tossed a touchdown to Golden Richards. Defensive linemen Harvey Martin and Randy White took home the game's first co-MVP honors after leading their defense to 8 turnovers in Super Bowl Twelve.

Super Bowl XIII

At the Orange Bowl in Miami, Florida on January 21, 1979 Chuck Noll's Pittsburgh Steelers outlasted Tom Landry's Dallas Cowboys 35-31 in Super Bowl 13. Roger Staubach threw for 228 yards with three touchdowns to Tony Hill, Drew Pearson, and Billy Joe Dupree. But Ed "Too Tall" Jones and Thomas "Hollywood" Henderson couldn't stop Super Bowl Thirteen's MVP Terry Brandshaw's record 318 yards and 4 touchdowns. Catching touchdowns for the Steelers were John Stallworth (2), Lynn Swan, and Rocky Bleier. Dallas tackle Randy White fumbled when Tony Dungy delivered a crushing shot on special teams. Franco Harris ran for a touchdown in Pittsburgh's 3rd Super Bowl victory.

Directory | Site Map | Copyright Notice