Super Bowl History 1990 – 1999

Super Bowl XXIV
On January 28th, 1990, new head coach, George Seifert, led the San Francisco 49ers to their second straight Super Bowl Title, blowing-out Dan Reeves’ Denver Broncos 55-10 at the Louisiana Superdome in New Orleans. John Elway, Vance Johnson and the Broncos lost for the 3rd time in 4 years, while the 49ers tied the Steelers’ record 4 Super Bowl victories, with the Super Bowl 24 win. Jerry Rice caught three touchdowns, John Taylor caught one, and Brent Jones reeled in another. Tom Rathman rushed for two short scores. Joe Montana threw a record breaking 5 touchdown passes, taking home MVP honors, and his 4th Super Bowl victory. Matt Millen, Ronnie Lott, Bill Romanowski, Kevin Fagan, Chet Brooks, Michael Walter and Don Griffin led San Francisco’s defensive charge.

Super Bowl XXV
On January 27th, 1991, Marv Levy and the Buffalo Bills lost Super Bowl 25 to Bill Parcells’ New York Giants, 20-19. Fans at Tampa Stadium in Florida watched Otis Anderson take home Super Bowl Twenty-Five’s MVP. Jeff Hostetler completed passes to seven different players including Mark Bevaro, Mark Ingram, and Dave Megget. His lone touchdown went to Stephen Baker. Thurman Thomas had 190 total yards. Jim Kelly found James Lofton and Andre Reed, but couldn’t find the end zone. Lawrence Taylor and Pepper Johnson harassed Kelly often. Matt Bahr’s kick put the Giants up 20-19 in the fourth. Scott Norwood attempted a 46 yard field goal to win the game as time expired, but the kick sailed wide right.

Super Bowl XXVI
On January 26th, 1992 in the Metrodome in Minneapolis, Minnesota, Marv Levy’s Buffalo Bills lost 37-24 to the Washington Redskins in Super Bowl Twenty-Six. It was Joe Gibbs’ turn to deliver Levy a loss. Jim Kelly was tormented by Tim Johnson, Charles Mann, Brad Edwards, Darrell Green and the rest of the Redskin defense, as he was intercepted 4 times. Thurman Thomas rushed for a season low 10 yards. Mark Rypien had 292 yards, throwing touchdowns to Gary Clark and Earnest Byner. Art Monk had 113 yards. Bruce Smith, Darryl Talley, and Cornelius Bennett couldn’t break through the Hog’s frontline as Washington dominated Super Bowl 26.

Super Bowl XXVII
January 31st, 1993 marked the third Super Bowl loss in as many years for Marv Levy and the Buffalo Bills’. Jimmy Johnson’s Dallas Cowboys took Super Bowl 27 away from the Bills. James Washington (1), Larry Brown (1), and Thomas Everett (2), intercepted Jim Kelly 4 times, while Charles Haley, Russell Maryland, Jimmie Jones, and Ken Norton led the Dallas defense in recovering 5 Buffalo fumbles. On offense, it was Super Bowl Twenty-Seven MVP, Troy Aikman throwing 4 touchdowns; Michael Irvin caught 2, Alvin Harper 1, and Jay Novecek 1. Emmitt Smith led the game with 108 yards rushing in an easy NFC victory.

Super Bowl XXVIII
Super Bowl 28 was a rematch of Super Bowl 27. On January 30th, 1994 in Atlanta’s Georgia Dome, Marv Levy and the Buffalo Bills watched Jimmy Johnson’s Dallas Cowboys take home the Lombardi Trophy for the second straight year, dealing the Bills their fourth straight Super Bowl loss, 30-13. The game marked the 10th straight time the NFC defeated the AFC in the Championship Game. Thurman Thomas had only 37 yards rushing and Jim Kelly didn’t throw a touchdown. Super Bowl MVP, Emmitt Smith, had 156 total yards. While waltzing into the end zone, Leon Lett was stripped by Don Beebe, but otherwise James Washington, Darrin Smith and the Cowboys had a brilliant day defensively, helping Dallas win their second straight Super Bowl.

Super Bowl XXIX
On January 29th, 1995 at Joe Robbie Stadium in Miami, Florida, Siefert’s San Francisco 49ers won Super Bowl 29 against Bobby Ross’ San Diego Chargers, 49-26, in the highest scoring Super Bowl of all time. Super Bowl Twenty-Nine’s MVP, Steve Young rushed for 49 yards and threw for a record breaking 6 touchdown passes; 3 to Jerry Rice, 2 to Ricky Watters, 1 to William Floyd. Natrone Means and Tony Martin scored offensive touchdowns for the Chargers, and Andre Coleman returned a kickoff for a 98 yard score. San Fran’s secondary compiled of Martin Hanks, Deion Sanders, Eric Davis, and Tim McDonald held Stan Humphries under 50% passing.

Super Bowl XXX
Super Bowl 30 was played on January 28th, 1996 at Tempe, Arizona’s Sun Devil Stadium. Barry Switzer’s Dallas Cowboys beat Bill Cowher’s Pittsburgh Steelers, 27-17. Larry Brown’s two interceptions led to two Dallas touchdowns and a Pete Rozelle MVP Trophy for Brown. Chris Boniol hit 2 field goals. Emmitt Smith ran for two scores. Troy Aikman hit Michael Irvin on his lone touchdown pass. With 4:15 left in the game Neil Odonnell threw his second pick to Brown ending Pittsburgh’s comeback hopes. Lavon Kirkland, Chad Brown, Kevin Greene and Greg Lloyd led the Steeler defense. Brock Marion, Deion Sanders, Charles Haley, Leon Lett, and Darren Woodson all played great for Dallas’ defense.

Super Bowl XXXI
On January 26th, 1997 Mike Holmegren’s Green Bay Packers beat Bill Parcells’ New England Patriots, 35-21, in Super Bowl 31 at the Louisiana Superdome in New Orleans. Brett Favre ran for a score and threw touchdowns to Antonio Freeman and Andre “Bad Moon” Rison, but Heisman Trophy Winner Desmond Howard took home the MVP after returning a kickoff for 99 yards and piling up a Super Bowl record 244 return yards. Brian Williams, Doug Evens, Craig Newsome, and Mike Prior each intercepted a Drew Bledsoe pass, as Reggie White and Gilbert Brown caused havoc in the Patriot backfield. Ty Law, Otis Smith, Willie McGinest, Lawyer Milloy and the rest of the Pats couldn’t stop Favre’s Super Bowl Thirty-One Champion Packers.

Super Bowl XXXII
On January 25, 1998 at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego, California, Holmgren’s Green Bay Packers lost to Mike Shanahan’s Denver Broncos 31-24 in Super Bowl 32. John Elway played his worst statistical Super Bowl, 123 yards and an interception, however Terrell Davis carried the Broncos on his back as he rushed for 157 yards and a record 3 touchdowns on route to Super Bowl Thirty-Two MVP. Brett Favre threw two touchdowns to Antonio Freeman and one to Mark Chmura, but his last minute 4th down pass was batted away by John Mobley. Safeties Eugene Robinson and Tyrone Braxton each had an interception. Other key players were Steve Atwater, Neil Smith, and Keith Traylor for the Broncos, and Reggie White, Santana Dotson, and Seth Joyner for the Packers.

Super Bowl XXXIII
Dan Reeves’ Atlanta Falcons fell victim to Mike Shanahan’s Defending Champion Denver Broncos on January 1st, 1999 at Pro Player Stadium in Miami, Florida. Super Bowl 33 had Dan Reeves’ old club, Denver, against his new club, “The Dirty Birds.” John Elway played well in his last game, throwing an 80 yard touchdown to Rod Smith, while taking home MVP honors. Terrell Davis had 100 yards for the second straight year. Tony Martin and Terrence Mathis were Chris Chandler’s main targets, but Chandler also threw 3 interceptions; 2 to Darrien Gordon; 1 to Darrius Johnson. Jamal Anderson had 96 yards, and Tim Dwight had a 96 yard kick return for Atlanta. Trevor Price, Glenn Cadrez and Ray Crockett led Denver’s defense.